Graduate Fashion Week 2023: List of Winners

Graduate Fashion Week, the world’s largest showcase of BA fashion talent, recently concluded its four-day event at the Truman Brewery in London from June 12 to 15. Organized by the non-profit organization Graduate Fashion Foundation, the event featured collections from fashion and design graduates representing 38 member universities in the UK.

The highlight of the event was the ‘best of’ catwalk showcase celebrating the ‘Class of 2023’ and recognizing the winning collections. Over 20 graduate awards were presented, with industry professionals and ambassadors serving as judges in various disciplines, including textile design, styling and creative direction, photography, and marketing.

The awards also included catwalk awards for the best collection and highly commended winners from each university’s catwalk show or fashion presentation. These awards were based on criteria such as creative impact, use of color and fabric, and craftsmanship.

Among the standout collections from the ‘Class of 2023’ was Monika Pohorska from Kingston University, who won the Zandra Rhodes Fashion Textiles Award for her womenswear collection titled ‘Voices of Nature.’ Her collection featured nature-inspired prints and mythologies. Harriet Hooper from Leeds Arts University received the Accessories Award Supported by YKK for her intricate ‘Bilateral Being’ collection, which showcased a coat that could transform into a bag, along with a versatile hat and other multifunctional garments.

Additionally, Amy Clunes from Northumbria University was honored with the Hilary Alexander Sustainable Trailblazer Award, paying tribute to the late honorary president of the Graduate Fashion Foundation. Luoyuan Zhang, a graduate from Nottingham Trent University, received the Considered Fashion Award for his silkworm-inspired fashion collection that promoted respect for ecology and nature.

Graduate Fashion Week
Credits: Image: Graduate Fashion Week / Shaun James Cox; Harriet Hooper, Leeds Art University

The event provided a platform for emerging talent in the fashion industry, showcasing their creativity and innovative designs.

‘Class of 2023’ winners:

Accessories Award Supported By YKK: Harriet Hooper, Leeds Arts University

Culture And Heritage Award Supported By Burberry Design: Diana Kibangou Obondji, Staffordshire University

Culture And Heritage Award Supported By Burberry Non-design: Nadia Girach, De Montfort University

The Face Excellence Prize: Nothando Ngwawaira, University of Westminster

Fashion Illustration Award: John Owen Hicks, Liverpool John Moores University

Footwear Award: Ciara Spencer, Norwich University of the Arts

Zandra Rhodes Fashion Textiles Award: Monika Pohorska, Kingston University

Digital Fashion Award: Simone James, Manchester Fashion Institute – Manchester Metropolitan University

Fashion Communications Portfolio Award: Eva Quinn, Manchester Fashion Institute – Manchester Metropolitan University

Fashion Marketing Award: Eva Quinn, Manchester Fashion Institute – Manchester Metropolitan University

Fashion Moving Image Award: Ellisha Mason, Norwich University of the Arts

Fashion Photography Award: Temujin Blakeway, Cambridge School of Visual & Performing Arts

Fashion Styling And Creative Direction Award: Moreen Honest, Norwich University of the Arts

New Business Award: Katherine Millward, Birmingham City University

The Terry Mansfield Publication Award: Kristian Braband, Solent University

Childrenswear Award: Rebecca Frost, Northumbria University

Considered Fashion Award: Luoyuan Zhang, Nottingham Trent University

Creative Pattern Cutting Award: Aimee Mann, Northumbria University

Fashion Innovation Award: Ana Del Rio Mullarkey, De Montfort University

Fashion Portfolio Award: Simone James, Manchester Fashion Institute – Manchester Metropolitan University

The Hilary Alexander Sustainable Trailblazer Award: Amy Clunes, Northumbria University

Sportswear And Leisurewear Award Supported By Gymshark: Madison Brabrook, Nottingham Trent University

Catwalk Winners:

Northumbria University

Winner: Meg Fletcher

Commended: Kira Banks

University of Derby & University of Hertfordshire Joint show

Derby Winner: Sofia Segalla

Hertfordshire Winner: Elizabeth McLean

Bath Spa University & Arts University Bournemouth Joint show

Bath Spa Winner: Erika Roznyte

Arts Uni Bournemouth Winner: Lucy James

Nottingham Trent University

Winner: Gus Beech

Commended: Megan Barnsley

Sheffield Hallam University

Winner: Isabelle Lucy Burton

Commended: Eloise Collett

Winchester School of Art at the University of Southampton

Winner: Xingyan Liu

Commended: Megan Fanning

Birmingham City University & Glasgow School of Art Joint show

Birmingham Winner: Rachel Hunt-Pearce

Glasgow Winner: Charlie Stewart

University of Central Lancashire & Norwich University of the Arts Joint show

UCLAN Winner: Adam Gronback

Norwich Winner: Micheal Rixon

De Montfort University

Winner: Nirawit Vanglert

Commended: Elise Ferretti

Edinburgh College of Art

Winner: Faith O’Hare

Commended: Phoebe Potter

GFW Collective

Winner: Charlotte-Susan Lamb from Cambridge School of Visual and Performing Arts

Winner: Lydia Gao from Cambridge School of Visual and Performing Arts

Winner: Harriet Hooper from Leeds Arts University

Manchester Fashion Institute at Manchester Metropolitan University

Winner: James Tree

Commended: Georgia Baker

Liverpool John Moores University

Winner: Paola Preti

Commended: Meg Wooldridge

University for the Creative Arts

Winner: Sara Hegyi

Commended: Ewa Besciak

Next Post

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.